I analyze your best colors to bring out your own personal glow.

Ally

Ally writes,

Hi,
Your blog is great!  I am a 40 year old mom looking to break  out of a BIG style rut.  I would love to find out what season I am and what colors I should wear. I am a 40 year old stay-at-home mom from Indiana.  My world is filled with little kids and family.  I teach Sunday school and volunteer at my kids’ school.  I like running, reading, and am a lousy cook! My clothes and makeup budget is very limited, so I want to get it right the first time and not waste money buying things that don’t look so great.  I have been told before that I am a winter, but when I try those makeup colors on they look too harsh and I feel like a clown.  I like some winter colors, but feel like many of the jewel tones overwhelm my coloring.  I also feel like my natural hair color is too light to match many of the winters I see online.  I need advice on makeup and clothing colors, and would love ideas for hair highlights that would look nice, too.
Ally’s Color Interview:

What color(s) do you wear the most? blues of all shades, followed by pinks and black.

What color(s) do you wear the least? white!  The kids always spill things on me!

In what color(s) do you feel sexy and/or beautiful? Sexy? LOL!! Beautiful – blues

In what color(s) do you receive compliments? when a color brings out my eyes – usually medium and bright blues.

Ally in cool colors:

blackpinkfuchsiapurple

blueaqua

green

Ally in warm colors:

charcoal grayivory

dark brown

Ally definitely is living in a Winter world. She was told she is a Winter and she gravitates toward blue and other cool colors. Ally is one of my clients who I instantly knew what she was as soon as I saw her first photo.

Ally is an Autumn. The cool colors wash Ally out or at best just sit on her. The deep charcoal and the dark brown tops especially flow with her coloring. I think once she starts including warmer, more vivid colors in her wardrobe she will notice a dramatic difference. I believe she will get more compliments than she is used to getting wearing blues that match her stunning eyes but do nothing else for her. Ally definitely had the correct instinctual reaction against cool makeup colors and cool jewel tones.

dark browngreen

See the difference?

If you would like me to do a color analysis for you (includes blog feature with pictures and customized color shopping list with your own personal power color) that will bring out your own unique glow, contact me at glowingcolor@gmail.com for rates.

Comments on: "Ally" (5)

  1. I REALLY. Like that she did her pics like this ( throwing all the color on herself like that, is a good way to illustrate the point I think we all learned a lesson!

    Also, more of a beauty question but related to her: Should she do honey highlights? Would that be beneficial so as to warm her face up?

    • Yes, I love the way she submitted her pictures too! And YES, honey/golden brown highlights are exactly what I recommended to her (and also sent an example of a coppery red because she used to have natural auburn highlights)!

  2. I am so excited to start trying out these new colors! I’ve spent my whole life being told cool colors were best, but I never felt like they looked all that great. Thank you for doing this for me!

  3. MrsNumbles said:

    That dark brown immediately brought a glow to her face! :o)

  4. isabela said:

    Ally looks beautiful in brown, yes, and the green (which seems a cool one on my computer) is not that good. Yet I like her very much in those blues (which do not seem so very cool, by the way) and in the lighter pink.

Leave a comment